top of page

...quite contrary, how does your "Yarden" grow?

Urban farming. "Yardens." A hybrid yard/garden. Nourishment for body and soul.

"yarden".jpg

I like to do my farming early in the morning, before heat, humidity and mosquitoes descend with a vengeance. Lots of weeding and transplanting of the 'weeds' I like, especially morning glories, which to my dismay, have been included in Florida's invasive species list.

The section in the lower left sports newly spouted Great Northern Beans. I'm tickled about these because they were grown on the family farm in Nebraska. This particular crop is from sprouts I hoped to eat on salads. Alas, I left them too long in the refrigerator and decided they'd best grow in the ground...No further details needed...

greatnortherns.jpg

Lower right section is for spices: rosemary, stevia, mint, cilantro, turmeric, ginger, basil.

Upper left, a mix of cucumber vines, newly planted ice berg lettuce and escarole.

Upper center: Soon-to-be harvested escarole; young rhubarb, turmeric.

Upper right: watermelon vines! A few flowers. Hopefully they'll set fruit.

Well, it's all mostly an experiment, but I'm thrilled when sprouts push through the soil. Leaves and tendrils and flowers and peapods — oh my! I forgot to mention the amazing black-eyed peas...

black-eyed peas.jpg

I planted these on a whim...just a few dry peas saved from the soup pot. These plants share a section with garlic, scallions, and a red onion.

I don't care about being very structured. I do compost, and use a natural bug deterrent made from soapy water and cayenne pepper.

It's all about the joy of tending the green and growing.

As Dr. Pangloss advises in Voltaire's Candide: "Tend your garden and eat pistachio nuts."

Yep. Love those, too.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page